2020-04-09

Yesterday was the first hot day of the year. It was also the morning I woke up to the news that Bernie Sanders has suspended his presidential campaign. Part of me felt shell-shocked, part of me had a feeling of relief, and part of me felt a dire urgency. The urgency is the easiest to explain, so I quickly dressed myself and went out. I needed to get passport photos. My ATF forms need to be sent out ASAP. The Walgreens I drove to was closed. Apparently some of their staff got sick, so that location would be closed for the foreseeable future. The next closest CVS had a broken photo machine. I went to another Walgreens by the city limits. The staff was very friendly. I had my picture taken, cut, and handed to me in twenty minutes. Next I zoomed back home, took my fingerprints, prepared all of the documents needed, and then headed out again. The late morning early afternoon sun was hot. Almost 70 degrees. No more need for a jacket. I flipped on the air conditioner and went to the post office. Yellow and black tape on the floor marked where people should stand to maintain the six feet apart. All of the documents mailed had cost less than five dollars. Once back home I sat and pondered. Now to address the other emotions. It is highly likely that the United States will become a dictatorship. The election will be bloody without question. I need to be prepared far in advance of that. I should buy an Armalite. I may not get the chance again. Maybe I should also get a Glock 19 Gen 5. I heard those are incredibly reliable. Unfortunately, everyone’s inventory is low so these purchases could just be a pipe dream. The relief is that I will not need to fight anymore. Politics have just become polarization now. There is no deeper thinking needed above the state level. I don’t need to fight that seemingly impossible battle now. Now I can just focus on the smaller local and state battles.

This morning I awoke to the news that the state stay-at-home order was extended and expanded in scope. Until the end of this month the soft quarantine has become a bit harder. I’m glad I took my pictures yesterday. I don’t think I could have taken them today.

In the later morning a thunderstorm passed overhead. And when I looked out in the afternoon there were snow flurries. It is a little comical really. I still went out to get some medicine that had come in. I no longer had disposable gloves however, so I wore some reusable rubber and fabric gardening gloves. When I was leaving back to my car I overheard a hipster girl telling her hipster boyfriend rather loudly in the aisles “You don’t need damn gloves. Just wash your fucking hands. People are stupid!” I thought to myself, I would be divine comedy yet horrible for her to die.